Water, water everywhere

No, not the floods (although they do bring back memories of a few years back in Tewkesbury).

I finally got round to buying a reusable water bottle, having found one that goes in the dishwasher (I can guarantee that it wouldn’t get washed enough if it didn’t).  So I’m hoping to break a pattern of buying plastic bottles of water when I’m out.  I do reuse them, but I know you’re not supposed to do that, and it would be better not to buy them in the first place.

However, I still have the problem that I really don’t want to carry as much water as I need if I’m out all day.  I do drink a lot of water, and carrying 2 litres around is a pain.  That’s probably the number 1 reason for me ending up buying bottled water.

Most cafes and so on are good at giving you tap water nowadays (certainly it’s seen as less weird to ask for it than it was 10 years ago) but you still have to buy something else.

What I want to know is – do water fountains even exist anywhere in Edinburgh?  I was reminded when I got my book festival programme that they, marvellously, have a couple of drinking water taps on the festival site – I remember going out of my way last year so that I could fill up my bottles there.   If this was an American city, or Swiss, there would be absolutely no problem finding drinking water anywhere.  But I cannot think of a single place in town with a public fountain or drinking water tap (there’s the occasional ornamental fountain, but they’re not for drinking from).  Am I just not seeing them?  I have been known to make use of the poetry library’s upstairs sink, but that’s only because I know them and don’t mind being a bit cheeky!

If you do know of somewhere I can go to fill up, please let me know in the comments!

This entry was posted in Edinburgh and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

