Walking like a fridge

The only information I have actually retained from the four Argentine Tango classes that Mr Woodsmoke and I attended a few years ago is the phrase ‘walking like a fridge’. This refers to moving your right shoulder/arm along with your right leg so the whole side of your body moves at once, rather than the balance of right arm with left leg. Of course you’d never do this in real walking, but when you’re dancing, it can be surprisingly easy to do. The class itself was kind of annoying in its disorganisation and the teacher’s pretentiousness about the dance form, but the phrase ‘walking like a fridge’ is rather marvellous.

I am sure that Norman MacCaig’s Toad in the poem of the same name is walking like a fridge: “You clamber towards me on your four corners-/right hand, left foot, left hand, right foot.”

I have extended the use of ‘walking like a fridge’ in this household to mean ‘how you walk when you are so stiff that your body is just one big block’. That is certainly what I’m doing today! I was out on a geowalk along the Water of Leith yesterday. The walk itself was only 4km so pretty trivial. But by the time I’d added on the walk from the bus and the walk to where I was meeting my friends, mapmyrun tells me I walked 7.7km (4.8 miles). I’m ashamed to say that that’s probably the longest walk I’ve done in over a year, and I can feel it this morning!

The good news is that I didn’t think about my feet once in the walk, I had no blisters at all from the new shoes and only a tiny sore-ish point on the bottom of one big toe. Great! I’m hoping I can get walking that sort of distance regularly a couple of times a week, and build up to doing some longer walks. Having the right shoes is a good first step!

This entry was posted in Edinburgh, Exercise and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

