Hot head

Finally, winter has properly arrived (although here in Fife we have escaped the snow entirely).  This can only mean one thing:

Hot took hat

It’s time for the return of the ridiculous hat (which looks even more ridiculous in the photo because I hadn’t taken the tag off yet).

Given that I am a knitter (albeit a lazy one), you’d think I’d be swanning around in something attractive and hand-knit.  I have indeed knitted some lovely hats.  The one with the big ribbed brim (something I would never knit for anything else) that I made from last year’s Christmas present Rowan Silk Twist is a particular favourite.  I have a lovely handspun hand-dyed red hat that I received in a present exchange with a random internet person in the US years ago.   I have my first colourwork hat and a nice burgundy Cashmerino hat that is the first adult hat I ever made.

However, I also have the coldest ears on the planet and knitted hats are not generally windproof.  A few years back I got sick of not being able to have my Friday walk on the Malvern Hills because my ears would become extremely painful within the first 5 minutes.

So, like any self-respecting maximiser, I scoured the internet obsessively for the perfect hat.

The Hot Took Hat is the answer.  It is a technical outdoor hat made of windproof fabric and fleece and is totally over-the-top for city use. I swithered over the cost.  It looks completely ridiculous (and the picture on that link makes me wonder whether I’ve been wearing it inside-out).    It makes me look like a pasty pointy-headed elf.  Somehow it gives me a pointy nose and chin when normally they are distinctly blob-like.  But it is the warmest thing ever on the earth.

I went out yesterday in jeans – so my legs were freezing – and a jumper and fleece that managed not to be windproof – so the rest of me was freezing – but at least I had a lovely warm toasty head.

I did wonder briefly whether the preponderance of those weird fake sheepskin hats with ears this year would make my daft hat stick out a bit less, but I suspect not.  I don’t care.  It’s going to be glued to my head on every single day that the temperature drops below 5C.  It’s one of the few things that makes the winter bearable.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

