Grey on grey

A few weeks ago, a wind turbine turned up in Dunfermline. On looking it up online, I found that it’s at FMC Technologies. It’s quite striking as you come in off the M90.

For the last couple of weeks, I’ve been thinking it would be a good artist’s date to go and take a look at the turbine and take some pictures of it. I was hoping for a day that had an interesting sky, but I needed to get out of the house yesterday so decided just to take the grey sky.

None of the pictures turned out how I wanted, but the turbine was really interesting. It seems to change colour depending on which angle you look at it from: from some angles it did almost blend into the sky. The industrial surroundings are also quite interesting for photography (I am a big fan of ugly industrial architecture).

One thing that I hadn’t anticipated were the number of people who were around, and I didn’t want to hang around for too long. I might go down again on the weekend and take my time. I felt like I should be wearing a T-shirt that said “I’m not a NIMBY! I actually like them!” The turbine is still in testing so it was mostly in one place: it started turning slowly when I got near it. It was interesting to see how much the composition of the picture would change based on the position of the turbine.

Anyway, here’s a couple of pics. I think on an interesting sky there might be something fun to take here.  I do like the way the blades fade into the sky in the first photo.

Wind turbine

Wind turbine
Wind turbine

This entry was posted in Buildings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Grey on grey

  1. Peeriemoot says:

    I keep wanting to photograph wind turbines but although we’ve been to Whitelee wind farm a few times I’ve never got a picture that pleased me! I think I need blue sky for that and I haven’t got it yet.. I love your first picture though – the fading is beautiful.

  2. Pingback: The Artist’s Way week 11 / on bad art | blurofwoodsmoke

  3. Pingback: The Artist’s Way week 11 / on bad art | blurofwoodsmoke

  4. Pingback: The Artist’s Way week 11 / on bad art | altdotlife: Build your own village

Leave a Reply

