To NaNoWriMo or not to NaNoWriMo?

I am very undecided about whether to NaNoWriMo this year.

Pros:
1) I have never done it before
2) It seems unlikely that I’ll have a job by November, so I should have some time
3) I am (possibly unwisely) reasonably confident that I could get to that number of words, having written pretty major stuff before, PhD thesis and suchlike. Although I don’t know whether I can possibly write that much fiction.
4) I’m getting used to blasting out poems and articles using the just-get-your-bum-in-the-chair method. It would be interesting to see whether that works for longer stuff.
5) Fun, meeting people and all that good stuff.

Cons:
1) I literally have no novel outline beyond two one-line ideas that keep bouncing around my head.
2) It’s now well into October so I would really have to get on with it if I was going to write an outline.
3) I really don’t think it would improve my job-hunting focus any!   Also, it would take some focus away from other creative activities that I’d like to pursue.
4) I hate drafting on the computer, I’m a longhand-then-type person, but I’d want to write on the computer for the wordcount.
5) Level of insanity seem in other NaNoWriMoers. Just kidding, my lovely friends and family!

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to To NaNoWriMo or not to NaNoWriMo?

  1. october35 says:

    Here’s a thought for you. If you fancy giving it a try, now’s the time to do it. Next year you’ll have a full time job taking up lots of time, and all the time for fun creative stuff will be seriously compressed. It’s waaaay easier when you can spread it out across the day/evening rather than having to write after work.

    As for preparing, I am proof positive that starting with nothing more than an opening scene and the name (and nothing else) for my lead character, can lead to a novel in 25 days. Twice.

    And it’s okay if its bad – most first drafts are – and its okay if you don’t finish – the majority don’t – but it’s a great experience knowing you’re joining in with the global insanity with another 299,999 other writers to make written art – whatever form it takes. And no-one says it can’t encompass other forms – you can work poetry and letters and other stuff in there to liven it up for yourself. It is deeply silly, weirdly compulsive and has only one real rule – no second guessing, just write.

    On the other hand, if it will just be something to stress about, don’t let me or anyone else talk you into it – it’s supposed to be fun, not a chore. :) I’m sure you’ll come to a good conclusion – and if you decide not to, feel free to pop round and ice my complaining wrists in week three! :D

  2. This post made me smile, I’ve had similar thoughts myself!

    • And did you ever decide to go for it? I think I am literally going to decide on the last day. There’s always the option of signing up and then not completing, but that offends the type-A bit of my personality :)

Leave a Reply

