Fun in the shadows at Edzell Castle

On our way up north to see the nephew, we stopped off at Edzell Castle, partly because we are feeling enormous guilt at being completely slacker Historic Scotland members, and partly because it was a sensible place to break for lunch. After sitting in the car for 15 minutes while the rain drummed down, it dried up enough to get my wellies on and look around.

The last time I went to Edzell Castle was when I was a student and staying at The Burn. I remembered the ruined castle but somehow had completely forgotten the marvellous formal garden.

Edzell Castle garden

Usually when we are out, there is no argument about the camera. Mr Woodsmoke potters about and takes lots of nice photos. Here are a couple more of his around the castle and grounds:

by Edzell Castle

Edzell Castle garden

However, this time I couldn’t resist pinching the camera for a bit. The shadows were so compelling and the sky also varied a lot.

At the moment, I am liking pictures with a lot of sky in them. I had a go at some but think I could have done with even more sky! I may play around and see if I can do a more fierce crop.

Detail of Edzell Castle garden

Edzell castle tower

Anyway, we both had a lot of fun. I really like that the digital camera frees me up to take lots of crazy pictures (I tried so many of textures of stone and light in doorways that really didn’t come off, but it was fun to try). And Mr Woodsmoke got to take the sort of thing that he likes too. When he wasn’t goofing around:

Prisoner!

This entry was posted in Buildings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

