The Artist’s Way week 6: halfway!

Just a quick review of The Artist’s Way week 6 (I burnt several fingertips earlier today so typing is not the easiest thing).

– I did my morning pages every day, even if once was in a Historic Scotland car park at lunchtime. They were generally a bit slow.

– I can’t say I saw a lot of synchronicity this week, but maybe I was just being cynical.

– Going to the writer’s group was definitely good progress on getting myself out there.

– My artist date was part of my busy creative Thursday. I took some time to wander around the National Gallery of Scotland in a completely unstructured manner, just looking at things I like. I typically find I’m not very inspired by pre-1900 art but I was wondering how much of that was due to a childhood where I felt like what I *ought* to do in a museum or gallery was to go round learning by reading every label. Now I’m prepared to let go of that in museums, I thought I’d give it a shot in a gallery too.

The National Gallery is surprisingly old-fashioned and has walls in incredibly ugly shades of red and green. But it’s a great space. On two floors, I found 8 or 10 pictures that really appealed to me, and spend a long time looking at each one. Since I was just looking, I deliberately didn’t make any notes so now I am quite frustrated that I can’t link to the pictures! I’m better at the newer stuff – a MacTaggart seascape, that Grant portrait of his daughter, Ben Ledi by D Y Cameron (the only one that I noted because I would love a copy for my front room!) But I stood for ages in front of a portrait of a man and a woman with utterly gorgeous lace and fabrics, and really touching young faces, and I couldn’t even tell you the century. I’ll have to go back!

And that’s kind of the point. There’s something great about having a local museum or gallery that you can just pop into and visit your favourites. Sometimes on the 20th time you’ll just happen to see something in a new light. I visited Kelvingrove many times a year as a child, and Dali’s Christ of St John of the Cross is still incredibly striking to me (I must go back – haven’t been since they re-did the museum a few years back).

– I’m still not totally convinced by this abundance theme this week. The general text is about letting God do the money thing, as far as I can tell, but the exercises are pretty small-scale. Maybe I just missed the point. I was asked to keep a diary of everything I spend, but since I do that anyway, I didn’t get any new insight. I’ve already done all the attitudes to money stuff elsewhere.

– I’m becoming more and more convinced that it’s the morning pages and the artist’s date that are the really good bit for me. I’m prepared to be convinced otherwise in weeks 7-12 though!

This entry was posted in Artist's Way, Edinburgh and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Artist’s Way week 6: halfway!

  1. october35 says:

    My favourite in the National Gallery is this one of a young boy going fishing – I love the way his eyes are bright with mischief as he’s been caught sneaking off to go fishing when he should be doing something else. When you see it in the Gallery, he looks like he might move or jump out of the frame, such is the life in his face. :)

    http://www.nationalgalleries.org/index.php/collection/online_search_advanced/4:325/results/20/4679/

    Cath x

  2. Grr, the link won’t work, I want to see him! What is the name of the picture? I will have to watch out for him next time.

    • october35 says:

      Do a search for ‘nothing doing’. It’s actually called ‘Pas Meche’ with an accent on the first E, but easier to search that way. It’s a Bastien-Lepage.

  3. Oh, he’s great! He has personality!

  4. Congrats on reaching the halfway point. I liked reading your insights and update. It is neat to see how you are working through it.:)

Leave a Reply

