(Slightly cheating on) reading deprivation days 5 and 6

Well, I’m certainly figuring out what are the things I really miss in this reading deprivation thing. There are only two that are completely horrendously difficult:

1) Radio 4. Not actually written words at all. I really miss waking up to the Today programme, going to sleep to The World Tonight or Today in Parliament, and having a nice talkative companion when I’m knitting.

2) How in heaven’s name is anyone supposed to have a bath without a book? I needed a bath tonight after Zumba class and found myself listening to country music on Radio Scotland because that was the best there was on analogue radio. It was a sad, sad moment.

I say that I have cheated a bit over the last two days because I realise the idea is that you spend time on your own without stimulation, get productively bored, and go have some fun and/or make some art. So going away and spending all your time interacting with your overpregnant sister is not really doing it properly. It was really nice though. I got to hear my niece/nephew’s heartbeat, exciting stuff. I finally finished knitting the baby sweater, although there are still some ends to address. However, my other sister has been knitting like a maniac so this baby will not be lacking in cute handmade jumpers.

I did also watch some TV which I don’t believe was addressed by my rules of engagement but was probably cheating too.

One day to go and I will be really glad to dive into words again on Sunday. But I can definitely see myself trying to do some modified reading deprivation going forward. I can’t begin to see why listening to a crap Dylan song in the bath is better than reading a really good novel, but corralling my internet use into limited times of day is something I’ve been planning to do for a while. Also trying to only read the good stuff and not go searching out really low-grade words just for having something on the screen.

Tomorrow is more Doors Open Day, must remember to take the camera this time!

This entry was posted in Artist's Way and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

