Latissimus dorsi

This post is for Caroline Williams aka The Good Therapist, who does marvellous work on my troublesome back.  My writing group prompt a couple of weeks ago was “a part of your own body” so she helped me out with some muscle names.

Climbing

Under my arm, at bra-strap level,
Is a round old-penny-worth
Of clear red pain. A panic button
Only discovered by touch.

Its equal match balances the scales
On the left side of my torso.
Neither dominant, they weigh out
My well-balanced stress.

My massage therapist tells me
That this is latissimus dorsi
The climbing muscle. When was I last
On the mountains? Or even

A ladder? The metal-mesh test tower
Is eliminated from enquiries,
As my fear of heights forces
The use of the stairs.

My over-dramatic Elizabeth Taylor
Sleeping pose, and my weak left-handed
Scroll-and-click are ruled out as
One-sided affairs. With no reason

It resists the painstaking, pain-taking
Work of the massage: it renews itself
Week after week. I can only conclude
That my dream-self is climbing.

She steps off the corporate ladder
Takes a parallel route through forest
And unknown jungle. Latissimus dorsi
Recalls monkey origins,

A tree-climber at last. Climbing the peaks
Of a new world; the clouds and the spires
Above earthbound life. Finding her spirit,
Taking the untrod route.

The red button serving to fasten
My climbing harness, and my angel wings.

This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Latissimus dorsi

Leave a Reply

