Earworms

There is a great satisfaction in learning a new word that just fits a situation perfectly, and substitutes for an awkward phrase.  When I found out (I believe on the BBC’s iPM programme) that a song that gets stuck in your head is called an earworm (Ohrwurm) in German, it was one of those moments.  Aha!  That’s what they’re called!

I have, and have always had, perpetual earworms.  If I’m lucky, they don’t get in the way too much.  If I’m unlucky (or maybe it’s not luck – there is certainly some correlation with stress) they take over my life.  I’m semi-serious about that.  They colour everything.

Since I don’t listen to music at home, and I’ve just stopped going to work, my earworms only have one external source.  Zumba.  This is why today’s earworm turns out to be “Moves like Jagger”.  It started yesterday at 2pm and has been going non-stop ever since.  It is particularly loud in my head and, like most of the most annoying earworms, the snippet that’s playing itself is very short (not that I believe there is much more of the song anyway).

The question is: do I try to kill it with Barbie Girl (the only decent earworm-killer I know) or is Barbie Girl even worse?   What a conundrum!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

