Bounce!

A fab day in Glasgow today, although it didn’t go entirely to plan.  I gratefully accepted a lift to Govan from Renfrew, only to find that I’d left my phone and had to jump straight on a bus back to Renfrew!  An hour later, I was back at Govan Ferry where I’d started.  (I have to say, I was pretty impressed with the buses – didn’t have to wait more than 2 minutes for one.)

Govan Ferry is the cutest wee ferry imaginable and I was the only passenger so it was like having a chauffeur or something.  It goes across from Govan to the Riverside Museum.  £1.50 was well worth paying for getting a mid-river perspective on the marvellous Zaha Hadid building.

Riverside Museum

Since I was behind schedule I decided to have lunch at the museum – nice soup and sandwich although the service, initally extremely prompt, slowed down considerably when it came to getting the bill!

Going round the museum was never in the plan – my intention was to have a short afternoon of art.  I’m afraid I struggle a wee bit with the programme for the Glasgow International Festival of Visual Art.  There were quite a few things that, well, I just didn’t understand what they actually were, which made me a bit nervous about turning up (I’m hoping that going on the walking tour next Monday will be help with that.)  But there were two events that I really didn’t want to miss.

My first planned stop of the day was #UNRAVEL which is in a railway arch at SWG3.  It’s an interesting art installation by the FOUND collective (who spoke so interestingly at the Science Festival) consisting of a turntable, some records, and some musical instruments.

#UNRAVEL

Basically, when you put a record on the turntable, it tells a story (with accompanying music from the marvellous personless band).  But if you put the same record on again, the story will be a bit different – it depends on the weather, the time of day, how many people are around and whether it’s feeling ‘confident’ (something which is based on how many people are talking about it online.)

I absolutely adore the idea – a really interesting reflection on memory and storytelling – but unfortunately I couldn’t actually hear the stories.  There was a big cherry-picker scissor-lift type thing right outside the arch and the engine was extremely loud.  I might try again next Sunday or something although I got the feeling that even without the noise, the voice just wasn’t that sharp.  I was a wee bit frustrated, but at least I went.

The other artwork I wanted to go to wasn’t at all nearby, but hey, I was having good luck with buses.  Anyone who follows me on twitter will know that I was massively excited by the idea of the bouncy Stonehenge (actual name is Sacrilege, by Jeremy Deller).  I have to say, it totally lived up to expectations!  It’s brilliant!  It’s bouncy!  I asked someone to keep an eye on my stuff while I had a wee bounce and she looked at me like I was crazy (I think her kids were bouncing – it was mostly kids).

Bouncy Stonehenge

The thing that I particularly love about this is that it just makes me go ‘duh!  how did I never realise that what we really need in this country is A BOUNCY STONEHENGE!  how could we have been so blind?’  It’s just tremendously happy.  The colours and patterns on the stones are brilliant when you get close.  So if you’re nearby, go for a bounce.  It’s quite near the Winter Gardens.

Stonehenge close-up

Finally, another cause for bouncing – I won the Science Festival Bloggers Challenge!  I am thrilled because from the first week it was completely clear to me that my fellow bloggers are all great writers – certainly all people I intend to keep following.  It must have been the firewalking that made that difference!  I need to say thanks to Clicket, Amanda Tyndall and the Science Festival team: as you saw here (at length) I really did have a brilliant time.

This entry was posted in Buildings, Glasgow and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

